The Dunce Cap: Week of Aug. 26, 2012

The Dunce Cap, Vol. 49: Well, I’ll fall if I don’t fight. (click on link to listen to mix via 8tracks or play above)

1. “Bodegas and Blood” – Butch Walker
2. “No One Else” – Weezer
3. “Market Girl” – Headlights
4. “Breakin’ Up” – Rilo Kiley
5. “I Want You” – The Tallest Man on Earth
6. “Criminal” – Fiona Apple
7. “The Ballad of El Goodo” – Big Star
8. “Landslide” – Smashing Pumpkins
9. “Watching the Detectives” – Elvis Costello
10. “Stephen” – Voxtrot

I’ve been a good, good girl. I’ve been careless with a fraudulent man. And it’s a sad, sad world, when you’ll trust a boy just because you can.

Alright, y’all know I’m no Fiona Apple, and I certainly don’t purport to be a masterful songwriter (or, even, much of a satirist at all), but I’m really feeling these tunes this week. I never seem to quite learn my lesson – and drama tends to trail me* – and I’ve found myself, so soon after the most recent transgression, knee-deep in interpersonal muck. This mix is a testament, in various ways, to those damn unpretty situations.

Some of the songs are more straightforward than the others – “Watching the Detectives” is fairly lyrically apt, the murder stuff, y’know, aside, while “Stephen” is appropriately titled but reflects a previous point of view – but I think they all convey a particular current state of mind for me. I’m done wading through your (the general ‘you’) philandering bullshit, I’m done being objectified, I’m done being walked all over or weak or manipulated, so I’m strapping on my dancing shoes and letting loose.

It’s time for a fresh start.

Happy listening.

*there are those who’d suggest I seek it out, but I’d beg to disagree.

Leave a Reply

