A.V. Club: For the Love of the Game

YOU GUYS, baseball’s been very, very good to me. ‘Specially these last few weeks.

Sure, the Nationals are all but a lock for the division title, but the Braves are leading in the Wild Card race, and Chipper Jones is destroying expectations in his final season in the majors, and I’m optimistic we won’t have a replay of last year’s September debacle. I’ve confidence in my boys of summer.

Also, these. Just – these.

Let’s Have a Party, Phanatic’ll Dance the Horah

Y’all know how I feel about Phillie Phanatic. And this could not have been more perfect; the Braves at Citizens Bank Park, celebrating Jewish Heritage Night, and Phanatic dancing the Horah to the Hava Nagila. It’s so many things that fascinate and amuse me, all coupled and in technicolor and gorgeous and perfect.

And, also, let’s not forget Aly Raisman’s London floor routine, to a surprisingly touching “Hava Nagila.”

Frenchy Filches Fan’s Fare

Link here.

Full disclosure: I approach alliteration like I do Pringles – once you pop, you can’t stop.

But, seriously, this video is hysterical. During a Royals road game in my fair city – on the South Side, at US Cellular – Jeff Francoeur took a break from (occasionally) shagging fly balls to steal some popcorn from an unsuspecting fan. The video clip does absolute justice to Frenchy’s cheeky attitude, one I , as a hometown gal and a Braves stalwart, truly miss.

And for good measure, an aquatic Delorean graces McCovey Cove.

Leave a Reply

