The Dunce Cap: Week of March 19, 2011


The Dunce Cap, Vol. 44: Fall in love with a new thing every day. (click on link to listen to mix via 8tracks or play above)

1. “Cruel, Cruel World” – Ezra Furman
2. “Awkward Kisser” – Telekinesis
3. “Simple Girl” – Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr.
4. “Call Me Maybe” – Carly Rae Jepsen
5. “Got My Mind Set on You” – George Harrison
6. “Scared Straight” – The Long Winters
7. “Maggie May” – Blur
8. “If I Wanted Someone” – Dawes
9. “Hand Me Downs” – The Morning Benders
10. “Heartbreaker” – Girls

Well, damn. I’m, like, super-behind on posting this Dunce Cap; I’m so behind, in fact, that I’ve mostly forgotten what I planned to write about this one. Here are a few quick notes:

Ezra Furman, either with the Harpoons or solo, is pure genius. I’m really loving this track, the lead from his first solo album, The Year of No Returning, which is in regular rotation on Chicago’s WXRT. It’s great and awesome and really melodic, and I highly recommend you check Furman out; maybe try “Take Off Your Sunglasses,” from 2008’s Inside the Human Body.

Carly Rae Jepsen’s infectious “Call Me Maybe” was blowing up my stereo for awhile there; the video is positively cheeky and worth a watch (or ten).

George Harrison’s video for “Got My Mind Set On You” is also hysterical. There’s some weird shit with somersaults and taxidermy, and it’s pretty fun. My roommate in San Francisco and I watched that video in pretty constant rotation, and it’ll forever occupy a special place in my heart.

Blur covered Rod Stewart. For the love of Rod! Enough said.

And on a somewhat disappointing note, The Morning Benders have changed their name and rebranded themselves Pop Etc. My last.fm artist count is going to hate this.

Finally, the cover photo is from Bob Carey’s brilliant The Tutu Project. Make sure to check out the gorgeous prints, all for a good cause.

Happy listening.

Leave a Reply

