A.V. Club: Happy Life Day, Y’all

I must confess: I love Christmas.

I love hot chocolate and snowmen and giant marshmallows and gaudy light displays and crackling fires and hysterically overwrought (and often heartwarming) TV specials and Leslie Knope’s giftgiving. And I love the smell of a fresh-cut fir and the comfort of a cableknit sweater. And, most of all, I love this:

This guy, the storied (and oft-shat upon) Star Wars Holiday Special, has it all. From Chewbacca’s family (with my main man, Lumpy) and a Bea Arthur sing-along to the introduction of Boba Fett and a pseudo-psychadelic Jefferson Starship performance, this 1978 television special is a total gem from start to finish; Harrison Ford has long evaded questions about it, which is no surprise considering his tearjerking performance (“You’re…like family to me!”). Enjoy.

I was gearing up to write a post about the joy of modern Christmas music, but, let’s face it – come tomorrow, you’ll all be sick and tired of it all. Below, though, you’ll find my two favorite Christmas songs.


Jimmy Eat World, “Last Christmas”
From the O.C.’s “A Very Merry Chrismukkah” album (and the Wham! original)


Mariah Carey, “All I Want For Christmas is You”
(and, one of these days, I’ll tell you all why I like Mariah so damn much)

Maybe someday soon I’ll get a Christmas like this.
Because, I should admit, these are the window dressings I’ve always wanted.

For now, the happiest of holidays to you and yours. Merry Christmas, if that’s what you’re into, Happy Life Day to the wookies, Happy (halfway through) Hanukkah, et. al. See you all soon enough.

One thought on “A.V. Club: Happy Life Day, Y’all

Leave a Reply

