On Tap: More Winter Vacation!

The planetarium this morning was excellent!

…Okay, I can’t lie, even to you, wide-open cyberspace. I slept in. I slept in and didn’t go to the planetarium. But! To redeem myself, I have a few exciting things lined up. I solemnly swear to actually act on these things.

Tomorrow (Wednesday), I’m going to head over to Belmont (and maybe Wicker Park) for some last-minute Christmas shopping. And Thursday evening, I can be found at The Museum of the Art Institute, where admission is free from 5 to 8 p.m. I’m so thrilled to see (for the first time in my entire Chicago experience) Seurat’s “Sunday Afternoon,” Wood’s “American Gothic” and one of my favorite paintings of all time, Hopper’s “Nighthawks.” Plus – Monet, Degas, Van Gogh! I think I’ll be there quite some time.

For your personal enjoyment, a video of yours truly reciting a poem written as a response to “Nighthawks.”


Give me a break. I was 16.

For now, spending an evening with an old friend.
Happy Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

