Book Club: Summer Nostalgia

One of my absolute favorite things to do is to devour entire collections of artistic endeavors (book series, television shows, movie franchises, etc.) in a short period of time. I get obsessive about things and complete them (usually) without skipping a beat – books excluded. I’m an awful skip-to-the-end-and-spoil-the-surprise-r.

But, all that being said, summer is the best time to indulge in this among my favorite hobbies. And, so, first things first on the list of summer nostalgia – Felicity.

Hollaback girl:

The cast of "Felicity"

I have a particular soft spot for ’90s WB dramas, a spiel I’ve certainly launched into before. And in the land of finicky, sweaty, dramatized adolescence, Felicity was king. Or queen.

So, the series was created by J.J. Abrams, and Ron Howard, Brian Glazer, et. al. produced, and it starred Scotts Foley and Speedman, and jeez ol’ peets, it’s good old fashioned fun about rape, cheatin’ hearts and minds, sex and Estonian chocolate poisoning. It “went there” before Degrassi went edgy. Way before.

I’ve picked up from the pilot, and ten years ago, Felicity Porter, all tight ringlets and sweet Southern California charm, was entering her junior year of college. And, sure, it’s a pretty pathetic news peg, but guess who is entering her junior (or third, whatever) year of college? That’s right – yours truly.

So, Felicity lasted four seasons, one to coincide with every year of the titular character’s college experience at the fictional University of New York (based, clearly, on NYU). The show was chocked full of hilarious quips and likable characters, but it dated itself with its loose acrylic sweaters, bulky Mac desktops and cutely endearing (but totally inescapable) Scott Foley bang cuts.

And despite the show’s timeliness, the series was brilliant. Sure, critics lambasted the show after Felicity (Keri Russell) chopped off her curly locks in season 2, and the series unarguably jumped the shark in season 4 when the writers opted for a super-lame time travel device – or so Wikipedia tells me -, but the show was really charming. Full disclosure – I’ve watched 12 episodes in two days. Despite a final. Which I studied for, still. But I digress.

I’ll be finishing the series out in, say, the next two weeks, and I’m hoping it’ll be even half as enjoyable as the beginning has been. I’ve been enjoying living college through another point of view, my own sort of time travel, and I’m not only nostalgic for ’90s television but also a bit disappointed I wasn’t able to attend college in the decade. It would have been fun.

And, plus, I miss Scott Foley. Bring back that cheeky grin and that sideswept hairstyle. Jennifer Garner, how do you sleep at night?

“The only time I’ve ever been to the principal’s office was in the fourth grade. This boy kept calling me Fellatio Porter, and even though I didn’t know what that meant, I put twenty-seven packets of salt into his orange juice cup.” – Felicity Porter, Season 1, Episode 12, “Friends”

Coming up: Dawson’s Creek, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Bones, Popular, Grosse Point

Leave a Reply

