The Dunce Cap: May 10, 2010

Image courtesy of nataliedee.com.

The Dunce Cap, Vol. 7: ‘Cause no one ever looked as vogue as her, in green. (mix via 8tracks)

  1. “Bloodbuzz Ohio” – The National
  2. “In Green” – Volcano, I’m Still Excited!!
  3. “Mr. Moon” – Kate Micucci
  4. “Jenny and the Summer Day” – The Avett Brothers
  5. “All My Friends” – LCD Soundsystem
  6. “Astair” – Matt Costa
  7. “You Wouldn’t Like Me” – Tegan & Sara
  8. “Burrito” – Pete Yorn
  9. “She’s Got You High” – Mumm-Ra
  10. “Too Little, Too Late” – Grizzly Bear

It’s starting to smell a bit like summer! Except, you know, not in Chicago, where the weather has shifted back into the dreary 50s-ish twilight monsoons. But in normal places, even at home, the shift is noticeable, and fidgety students are eager to frolic in sprinklers and devour ice cream cones (hence the photo, lawlz). Or maybe that’s just me.

My point is – there are four weeks left before I can begin my TBA summer adventures, and these songs are helping me get there just a little faster. There’s new National and some super-adorable Pete Yorn, as well as a Volcano, I’m Still Excited!! track that strongly reminds me of summer camp 2006. It’s a fun little mix with a great JoJo cover – the original is nearly unrecognizable – which, I’m sure, will inspire you to run, not walk, to the Cupcake Mobile! It’s ten thousand times better than your shotty old ice cream truck, I promise.

Do a little dance, and happy listening!

Leave a Reply

