The Dunce Cap: the birthday special edition!

"I would like you to dance (birthday)."

[image courtesy of etsy]

You say it’s your birthday.

Today is my last day as a teenager. I am, in fact, 1.5 hours (30 minutes in home EST) from reaching my third decade of life. Excited? Definitely. And, for that, this week The Dunce Cap provides you with not one but two mixes.

This playlist is certainly a bit more focused and themed than most, and the tracks (particularly the last two) explore the juxtaposition between excitement and utter fear in reaching adulthood. I am the birthday girl!, and it’s certainly daunting to consider that, when prompted for my age, my response will now be a concise “TWENTY.”

So, in an ode to old(er) age and maturity and impending graduation, etc., I have compiled a list of songs about growing up happy. Really. It’s truly that simple. From the lightheartedness of Harlem Shakes to the enduring excellence of Patrick Stump (really), these are tracks of a moment, this moment, the moment of my 20th birthday. It’s been a whirlwind year of fisticuffs (only occasionally literally) and laughter, the charisma of a serial heartbreaker and realizing that I’m not, much to my chagrin, the same person I was when I was 16.

A toast to twenty, to a new year and the end of an era of youth. Terrifying, really. I suppose I’ll have to retire John Hughes and develop a deeper affinity for P.T. Anderson, and perhaps it’s about time I stop quoting J.K. Rowling and calling it art.

Happy birthday to me.

The Dunce Cap, special birthday edition: Long live Sunday seekers slack-jawed by the speakers.
(mix via 8tracks)

  1. “Birthday Girl” – The Roots
  2. “Sunlight” – Harlem Shakes
  3. “Yoo Hoo” – Imperial Teen
  4. “Walk on the Wild Side” – Lou Reed & the Velvet Underground
  5. “Blue Sky” – Hanson
  6. “Bicycles” – The Maccabees
  7. “Lump” – The Presidents of United States of America
  8. “Our Life is Not a Movie or Maybe” – Okkervil River
  9. “Young Adult Friction” – The Pains of Being Pure at Heart
  10. “I’m an Adult Now” – The Pursuit of Happiness

Happy listening.

(editor’s note) I have been told today is my “golden birthday,” as I am turning 20 on the 20th. This, I believe, calls for a super-special birthday celebration.

To a year of continued happiness.

Leave a Reply

